All Elvis -- All The Time!


Elvis News Network -- Featuring The internet's only Elvis News Webcast!

Latest Elvis News
ENN Web-Cast
Our Correspondents
Email Us
Some Interesting Places

Jordan's Elvis World

Jordan's Elvis World


Thanks to Elvis News for providing our Latest News

Welcome To ENN - Review Of True Love Travels On A....

Laurel 1070  52:42 minutes

Las Vegas Feb. 23rd  / Jan. 26th 1970

 1: All Shook Up
 2: I Got A Woman
 3: Long Tall Sally
 4: Elvis talks
 5: Don't Cry Daddy
 6: Monologue/Everybody Loves Somebody (excerpt)
 7: Hound Dog
 8: Love Me Tender
 9: Kentucky Rain
10: Let It Be Me
11: I Can't Stop Loving You
12: See See Rider

13: True Love Travels On A Gravel Road
14: Sweet Caroline (the first live version)
15: Polk Salad Annie (the first live version)
16: Group introductions
17: Kentucky Rain (the first live version)
18: Suspicious Minds
19: Can't Help Falling In Love (10 seconds)
I can be very short about this one. This very nice disc gives us 2 incomplete shows from 1970, Las Vegas The first 12 tracks, from soundboard, don't sound very good. Many denoising techniques didn't work out too well for the recordings. Musically speaking we're listening to true jewels and you should take the bad sound for granted.
Part of the songs are the same as on Fort Baxter's "Walk A Mile In My Shoes" and this 2nd Baxter release was clearly the example for this Laurel CD, as we can see in the next 7 tracks. Because this is the second part of Baxter's "Walk A Mile..." and together we got a complete show! Then again, if you don't mind the 15 seconds track "Can't Help Falling....", okay it's not complete. But the sound of these last songs fortunately is much better and the enjoying starts already with the title track "True Love Travels On A Gravel Road", and then much more jewels to enjoy.
So, I said I'd be short, this is a good cd, if you don't mind half of it having a shi@#y sound. If you can spare could do worse, believe me!
By Taildragger.

Copyright 2003-2006